President Weah Instructs Foreign Minister To Recall Five Ambassadors


Monrovia, Liberia- President George Weah has instructed Foreign Affairs Minister Gbehzongar Findley to recall five ambassadors serving diplomatic missions abroad.

Mr. Sylvester Pewee, Assistant Foreign Minister for Press and Public Affairs speaking Monrovia on Wednesday said, the five diplomatic officials recalled are John Ballout, Liberian Ambassador accredited to Qatar; Dr. Brahma Kaba, Liberia ambassador to Saudi Arabia; Al-Hassan Conteh, ambassador accredited to Nigeria; Vivian Wreh, Liberian ambassador in Guinea, and Genevieve Kennedy, Liberia Ambassador to Ghana.

Minister Pewee said that the President’s action is in keeping with Articles 54 and 56 of the Liberian constitution.

The recall of these five ambassadors appointed during the Sirleaf era has been seen by some in the public as a politically motivated.

However, Article 54 of the Liberian Constitution gives the President the power to nominate and with the senate consent, appoint and Commission Cabinet Ministers, Deputy and Assistant Cabinet Ministers as well as Ambassadors, Ministers, Consuls and others while Article 56 provides that those appointed shall hold those offices at the will and pleasure of the President.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here