Missing Banknotes: Government of Liberia Issues Travel Restriction on 35 CBL Employees


Monrovia, Liberia- In continuation of investigation into circumstances surrounding the missing L$16 billion banknotes, the government of Liberia has issued a issued a Writ of Ne Exeat Republica (restriction from traveling) on 35 employees of the Central Bank.

Employees of the Central Bank who are banned from travelling out of Liberia are:

Dr. Milton Weeks, Charles Sirleaf, Dorbor Hagba, Richard H. Walker, Adolphus Forkpah, Cyrus Badio, Amie N. Rogers, Michael B. Ogun, James Wilfred, Joseph K. Jallah, Mounir Siaplay, Supuwood T. Tarpeh, Mussa A. Kamara, Mustapha E. Sherman, Sylvia Tarkpah, Joyce J. Dolo, George Wilson, Miatta Oberly Kuteh, Marica E. Grigsby-Toe, Musulyn RB Jackson, Maaka Amnlard, Prince Bull, Solomon Jaykpah, Theodoria, B. Jreh, oldada Deshield, Ophelia Nyenpan Barquolleh, Gabriel Zinnah ,Davison Lillie Ballah, Andrew Pabai, Edwina Edet, William Dargbeh, Stephen Nyenma, David M. Wilson, Lawrence Sirleaf.

With the exception of Dr. Milton Weeks who resigned earlier this year, all other names on the list are current employees of the Central Bank of Liberia.

The Writ, which is in possession of the Liberian Billboard reads in part, “You are hereby commanded to arrest the living bodies of defendants hereinabove named of the city of Monrovia, Montserrado County, Republic of Liberia to be brought before this honorable court to answer to criminal charges levied against them by the Republic of Liberia by and thru the Ministry of Justice.”

In addition to the above, defendants are to file bail bond when they appear in court, and failure on the part of any defendant to file a bail bond, will lead the court to jailing that individual until same is filed.

The Liberian Billboard will keep you updated on developments.